Telethon has been created by and belongs to the community of Western Australia who over five decades have generously donated more than $268 million to ensure a better life for our children now and in the future.

Generations of Western Australians have grown up with Telethon and through their generosity have had a major impact on some of the life threatening diseases that face our children including brain cancer and leukaemia.

​Through Telethon, you have provided equipment for children in hospital, critical services for children with disabilities and life-changing opportunities for disadvantaged children. Your tax deductible donations to the Channel 7 Telethon Trust will ensure that together, we can continue to ensure that our children have the best quality services and support now and in the future.

The Channel 7 Telethon Trust is a registered charity, governed by a Board of Trustees. Telethon's small team is based at The West Australian and Channel 7 in Perth. Telethon exists on a day to day basis because of the generosity of Seven West Media including Channel Seven Perth, The West Australian & The Sunday Times. All provide the Trust with tangible and intangible support through infrastructure, facilities, service and professional advice. The Telethon Weekend live 26 hour appeal is held at Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre and is televised on Channel 7 Perth and GWN7 statewide.

Read more

Our Patrons

Professor Fiona Stanley AC

Named Australian of the Year in 2003, Professor Stanley is a vocal advocate for the needs of children and their families. She studied medicine at the University of Western Australia and practised in hospitals for two years before going to the United Kingdom and USA for further training.

Professor Stanley is the founding Director of the Telethon Institute for Child Health Research, established in Perth in 1990. She is a Professor in the School of Paediatrics…Child Health at the University of Western Australia. Professor Stanley is also the Chair of the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth, a national collaboration of researchers, policy makers and practitioners from a broad range of disciplines.

In 2004, Professor Stanley was honoured as a “National Living Treasure” by the National Trust. She is the UNICEF Australia Ambassador for Early Childhood Development.

Expand full bio

Our Trustees

The Channel 7 Telethon Trust operates separately from Channel Seven Perth, with a board of trustees. The trust meets on a regular basis and decide on funds being distributed to organisations annually. The Trustees of the Channel 7 Telethon Trust are:

Kerry Stokes AC

Kerry Stokes AC Chairman

Chairman of the Seven Network with business interests in a diverse range of industries including electronic and print media, property, mining, and construction equipment. Awarded Companion in the Order of Australia in recognition of his contributions to Australian business.

Ms Tonya McCusker AM

Ms Tonya McCusker AM Trustee

Philanthropist and administrator of McCusker Charitable Foundation.

Mr Tim Roberts

Mr Tim Roberts Trustee

Tim is the founder of Warburton Group which manages interests in property, resources, infrastructure, aquaculture, healthcare, hedge funds and equities. Tim was formerly an executive director of Multiplex Group, a global real estate and construction business; is a non-executive director of Mineral Resources and Crown Resorts Perth as well as patron of the Perth Symphony Orchestra and North Cottesloe Surf Lifesaving Club.

Mr Nick Stagg

Mr Nick Stagg Trustee

Partner of WA law firm Lavan, and a former journalist with The West Australian newspaper.

Ms Christine Simpson Stokes

Ms Christine Simpson Stokes Trustee

Board Member for Australia Council Of The Arts, media advisor and property development. Former Perth news anchor.

Mr Brett McCarthy

Mr Brett McCarthy Trustee

Editor of The West Australian and former editor of The Sunday Times.

Mr Mario D’Orazio

Mr Mario D’Orazio Trustee

Managing Director of Channel 7 Perth and former Executive Producer of Today Tonight

Team Telethon

Marie-Anne Keeffe General Manager

Since February 2018

Lauren Castledine Operations & Communications Manager

Since March 2012

Danielle Hadley Senior Partnerships Manager

Since March 2011

Jock Davidson Database Manager

Since January 2016

Sadie Purser Creative Producer

Since December 2009

Sam Starr Events & Marketing Coordinator

Since October 2017

Ryan Spark Content Producer

Since May 2018

The history of Telethon

Originally the marathon TV event was broadcast over a weekend in October from the original Channel 7 studios in Tuart Hill on an estate that is now called “Seven Hills”.  However, in 2004, the 26 hour continuous broadcast of Telethon moved to a new home at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre in the heart of the City of Perth, so that more people could access the live tv show as it went to air.

Holding the event at The Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre enables Telethon to bring the fun and excitement to Perth families by providing the venue for the television broadcast, with space for an audience of 2,300 people at any one time, plus they can see the Beneficiaries Expo which gives the organisation’s that benefit from the money raised by the people of WA an opportunity to showcase what they do, and the Bendigo Bank Kids Carnival which attracts over 14,000 people across the Telethon Weekend.

Read more

Lost Telethon is our Facebook page that we created so that the people of WA can relive some of the magical memories of Telethon.  Many international celebrities have joined Telethon over the years too, including; Michael Jackson, Sir Elton John, Stevie Wonder, Sammy Davis Jnr, Def Leppard, Harry Connick Jnr, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Bea Arthur, Phyllis Diller, Hugh Jackman, Julian Lennon, Tina Turner, Carrie Fisher, Cliff Richard and Petula Clark.

Check out some of the legends who have visited Perth and loved the magic of what Telethon is within the WA community

View Lost Telethon